Guardians of the Galaxy Volume 2

Beginning Thoughts:  The movie is getting a lot of hype, but I’m avoiding spoilers the best I can (so far so good).  I’m looking forward to see how Baby Groot is incorporated.

Middle Thoughts: Opening adventure was cool and a lot of fun.  The reversal of fighting a big bad guy first before having to fight the swarms of smaller enemies was a nice touch.  Baby Groot dancing was very funny and I liked that the drone fighters were basically arcade pods.  Star Lord found his dad, and now I have the feels.

Ending Thoughts: I’m not really sure how I feel about the movie (it’s taken me weeks to write this review). It dealt with serious themes and wasn’t as playful as the first movie. Kurt Russell’s character was a bit of a galactic horn dog.

Something I Didn’t Expect: I loved the Yandu one liners “He may be your father, but he ain’t your daddy.” and “I’m Marry Poppins y’all”.  Did anyone see those coming?

Overall: I think it was a fun movie, but I think the family issues being touched on in this one were too much for me.  I wasn’t prepared for the heavy topics that it touched on.  Absentee father reunited with his son.  Reconciliation with a sister who was abused by father figure.  I think the underlying themes are darker than the previous Guardians movie and that makes the movie less fun overall. 

Leave a Reply

